You can set a timer on your iPhone camera to take a picture without physically clicking the shutter.


Setting a self timer on your iPhone camera automatically takes photos after a countdown.
The camera will take a series of 10 burst photos – you can choose the ones to keep or delete.
You can set the timer to take a photo after three or 10 seconds.

We’ve all been there — there’s nobody around to take a picture of your group of friends at a special location or event. Fortunately, Apple has developed a solution to this with a simple feature on the iPhone.

The built-in self timer on your iPhone camera allows you to take photos without physically clicking the button. You can set a long or short countdown timer and your camera will snap 10 burst photos to give you the perfect shot.

Here’s how to do it.

How to set the timer on your iPhone camera

1. Open the Camera app on your iPhone.

2. Position your iPhone where you’d like the photo to be taken.

3. Tap the down arrow in the top center of the screen.

Tap this down arrow.

4. Drag the slider that appears at the bottom to the left and tap the clock icon.

Tap the clock icon in the slider.

5. Next, select a countdown for the timer – you have two options: three or 10 seconds.

Set a timer for either three or 10 seconds.

6. Tap the shutter button to start the self timer. If you want to stop the timer at any point, tap the stop button.

Tap the stop button if you want to stop the timer.

Quick tip: The iPhone’s flashlight will flash each second, and you can use that to time your photo.

7. Once the photo has been taken, open the Photos app. 

8. Tap the photo taken with the self timer to select it. 

9. Tap Select at the bottom – you will be shown 10 different burst images taken using the self timer.

You’ll see 10 burst photos taken with the self timer.

Quick tip: You can turn off burst for timed photos by tapping the Live Photo button at the top and then take the picture.

10. Scroll through the images, and select the ones you want to keep by tapping on them. If you’d like to keep all of them, you can skip this step. 

11. Tap Done in the upper right-hand corner.

12. If you’d like to keep only the photos you selected, tap Keep Only # Favorites in the pop-up – the # is the number of photos you selected. Otherwise, tap Keep Everything.

Choose which photos you want to keep – you can also keep them all.

Read the original article on Business Insider